Units for 2008

I’ll start this post with what units I’m undertaking in 2008 and others can post what they are undertaking in the comments section. Let’s see who’s studying together or, if you’ve successfully completed a subject that someone else will be studying, then please offer some comments.

Simon’s Units for 2008

Semester One

PHIL2400: Ethics and the Passions – The University of Queensland

(SP1)

PHI350: Philosophy and Cinema – Macquarie University

ABT31: Comparative Indigenous Studies – The University of South Australia

REL22: Buddhism 2 – La Trobe University

(SP2)

PHI310: Philosophy and Cognitive Science – Macquarie University

PHI320: Theories of Justice – Macquarie University

REL200: Religions of the Ancient World – The University of South Australia

Semester Two

PHIL1020: Introduction to Logic – The University of Queensland

(SP3)

REL300: Contemporary Issues in Religion – The University of South Australia

ABT24: Rights and Racism – The University of South Australia

PHI210: Practical Ethics – Macquarie University

(SP4)

REL300: Islam-Past and Present – The University of South Australia

REL17: Religions of Asia – The University of South Australia


The two University of Queensland units will be taken on campus as they’re not offered externally. I need these two subjects so that I can graduate with a BPhil (Hons.) from the University of Queensland on top of my BA (Phil.) from Macquarie.

The last religion subject, REL17, will just be a fun unit. I’ll have finished all my undergraduate studies by then but to meet Centrelink’s criteria I need to be enrolled in two units per Study Period.

Posted by Simon Ives 

7 Responses to “Units for 2008”


  1. 1 Nathan January 6, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Semester 1:

    ENGL264: Contemporary and Postmodernist Literature
    PHIL132: Philosophy, Morality and Society
    ENGL276 Reading Theory

    Semester 2:

    ENGL107: Literature and Politics
    POL167: Thinking Politically
    CUL100:Living Culture: Entertainment, Identity, Power

    As you can see I’m no where near thinking about doing Hons., I’m still on level 100 units. Also you’ll notice different unit codes: I study wholly through MQU. This is a big schedule for me: I work full time (with ridiculous hours) and of course I need to spend time with my wife and kids. Nonetheless, I’m really looking forward to studying ENGL264 and 276 in the first semester and the politics units in the second. I’m thinking of changing PHIL132 for GEOS111. I’m really leaning toward GEOS111 after seeing the movie Children of Men (see a commentary here)

  2. 2 Waz January 7, 2008 at 7:50 am

    umm… I have enrolled in:

    SP1
    ABR13 – Contested Knowledge
    PTR110 – Structure Thought and Reality

  3. 3 Waz January 7, 2008 at 7:51 am

    whoops… let me finish!

    SP2
    NED24 Internet Design – Dynamic Environments
    ABT11 Research Methods 1A

    Thats all I have enrolled in at this stage.

    Waz

  4. 4 Simon January 7, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Nath, I’ve completed PHIL132 (although it had a different code for us ‘externals’) and it wasn’t bad. It’s quite a basic course, however, I feel it tries to cover too much ground in too little time. Those other courses do sound good.

    Waz, I’ve completed PTR110 and I quite disliked it. I had a terrible TA though so lets hope that’s all it is. It’s also quite a basic course that covers a fair selection of contemporary philosophy and sociology. If you’re into a bit of continental philosophy then this’ll be a good course as MQ have none.

    The worst aspect of this course is the first couple of weeks where you have to do an ‘intro to University’ module. You’ll also have to do some readings on knowledge, rationality and science too. This may sound enticing but it’s a bit too simple.

    The course does improve from there though moving into specific theorists. You’ll cover Nietzsche, Freud, Marx, General Feminism, Foucault, Derrida, Deleuze, Irigaray, Said, Baudrillard and Aries. All very interesting. You’ll then get to apply these theorists to Sexuality, God, Virtual Reality, Gobalisation and the War on Terror.

    Good luck to the both of you.

  5. 5 Nathan January 8, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Ok. I have just enrolled in these units for this year.

    Semester 1:

    ENGL264: Contemporary and Postmodernist Literature
    PHIL132: Philosophy, Morality and Society
    JPN123: Japanese Contemporary Culture Through Manga

    Semester 2:

    ENGL107: Literature and Politics
    POL167: Thinking Politically
    PHIL254: Freedom and Alienation

  6. 6 maekitso January 24, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Hello All,

    I began my MQ studies in 2004 as a part-time non-award student with the intention of upgrading my Mathematics and moving into primary or secondary school teaching. After taking Cultural Anthropology and Philosophy as introductory units my path took a detour and I am not quite sure where it is leading me, but I am enjoying the ride. Still a part-timer at MQ enrolled in a BA SCMP and working in the electronics industry for a living.

    2008… enrolled in
    Phil 225 – Critical Theory (Semester 1)
    Phil 264 – Business and Professional Ethics (Semester 2)

    Best of luck and happy studies.

    Brad

  7. 7 Simon January 24, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I took Business and Professional Ethics last year. If you keep up with the readings you’ll find the course very easy. I’m not that fond of the whole Business Ethics field but the course was interesting. You’ll focus on topics such as the nature of a corporation/business and its ethical responsibilities, stakeholder theory, and whistle blowing.


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 30,172 Encounters

ADMIN

Are you a contributor? Log In