Islam, Animal Morality, and Personhood

This may perhaps not be the best place to ask such a question but I’m having a lazy week.  I’m in the early stages of compiling information, a literature review of sorts, for a paper I’m working on with the theme of the title of this post.  I’m going through some notes that I took a while ago and I haven’t written down the source details for some of the quotes that I took (I know, I really am that thick).  Anyhow, I’ll list what I have and if anyone familiar with Islamic literature, supplementary texts and other writings can point out their source I’d appreciate it.

  • “The Prophet said ‘Beware of meat, it has addictiveness like the addictiveness of wine'”
  • “The Prophet said ‘You should use cow’s milk because it is good for health and cow’s ghee is good for health, but beef is bad for health” -Litt. milk is healing, ghee is medicine, beef is disease.”
  • “Allah has prescribed goodness in everything.  When you sacrifice well, let you sharpen your knife and make it easy for the animal to be slaughtered” (I’d had ‘you’ and ‘your’ highlighted in my book but I’m not sure if it is like that in the original or if I had added it myself)
  • “The holy Prophet Muhammad was asked by companions if kindness to animals was rewarded in the life hereafter.  He replied ‘yes, there is a meritorious reward for kindness to every living creature.'”
  • The holy Prophet forbade the beating or the branding of animals.  Once he said he saw a donkey branded and said ‘may Allah condemn the one who branded it.'”
  • “The Prophet said ‘it is a great sin for man to imprison those animals which are in his power.”

Posted by Simon.

1 Response to “Islam, Animal Morality, and Personhood”


  1. 1 Waz September 20, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Not sure if this is correct, but it looks like a site you may have visited…

    http://www.veganviews.org.uk/vv91/vv91animalsandislam.html

    Hope it helps

    Waz


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 23,295 Encounters

ADMIN

Are you a contributor? Log In

